



Congress & Nuclear Waste: Leadership

May 2015

<u>SENATE</u>

115th Congress (2017/2018) US HOUSE—Republican Party is Majority, so all committee chairs are Republican. Democrats hold "Ranking Minority" positions.

Energy and Commerce Committee

Chair: Greg Walden (OR-2-R) Vice Chair: Joe Barton (TX-6-R) Ranking Minority: Frank Pallone (NJ-6-D)

All <u>members of the FULL COMMITTEE</u> are from these states: CA, CO, GA, FL, IA, IL, IN, KY, LA, MD, MI, MO, NC, ND, NJ, NM, NY, OH, OK, OR, PA, TN, TX, VA, VT, WA, WV.

House Members represent only a PART of a State, but they are also part of their state's "Delegation" and, to some degree, work with the interests of the State as well as their own District. [NOTE: FL, NC and VA have changes in Congressional Districts since NV published the REPORT on transport through HOUSE Districts, so those states are omitted from transport cross-reference]

The ACTION so far is in the Subcommittee on Environment

It held a hearing April 26 (Chernobyl) <u>https://energycommerce.house.gov/hearings-and-votes/hearings/hr-nuclear-waste-policy-amendments-act-2017</u>

Republican Members (linked to the HOME PAGE for the Member) John Shimkus (Illinois - 15) - Chairman David McKinley (West Virginia - 01) - Vice Chairman Joe Barton (Texas - 06) Tim Murphy (Pennsylvania - 18) Marsha Blackburn (Tennessee - 07) Gregg Harper (Mississippi - 03) Pete Olson (Texas - 22) Bill Johnson (Ohio - 06) Bill Flores (Texas - 17) Richard Hudson (North Carolina - 08) Kevin Cramer (North Dakota - 00) Tim Walberg (Michigan - 07) Buddy Carter (Georgia - 01) Greg Walden (Oregon - 02) - Ex Officio

WWW.NIRS.ORG

6930 Carroll Avenue, Suite 340, Takoma Park, MD 20912 | T. (301) 270- NIRS (6477) | F. (301)-270-4291

House E & E, Environmental Subcommittee: Democratic Members

Paul Tonko (New York - 20) - Ranking Member Raul Ruiz (California - 36) Scott Peters (California - 52) Gene Green (Texas - 29) Diana DeGette (Colorado - 01) Jerry McNerney (California - 09) Tony Cárdenas (California - 09) Debbie Dingell (Michigan -12) Doris Matsui (California - 06) Frank Pallone (New Jersey - 06) - Ex Officio

The <u>Subcommittee on Energy</u> has, in the past, also played a role in nuclear waste legislation. Republican Members:

Fred Upton (Michigan - 06) - Chairman Pete Olson (Texas - 22) - Vice Chairman Joe Barton (Texas - 06) John Shimkus (Illinois - 15) Tim Murphy (Pennsylvania - 18) Robert Latta (Ohio - 05) Gregg Harper (Mississippi - 03) David McKinley (West Virginia - 01) Adam Kinzinger (Illinois - 16) Morgan Griffith (Virginia - 09) Bill Johnson (Ohio - 06) Billy Long (Missouri - 07) Larry Bucshon (Indiana - 08) Bill Flores (Texas - 17) Markwayne Mullin (Oklahoma - 02) Richard Hudson (North Carolina - 08) Kevin Cramer (North Dakota - 00) Tim Walberg (Michigan - 07) Greg Walden (Oregon - 02) - Ex Officio

Democrat Members (House E & E Subcommittee on Energy) <u>Bobby Rush (Illinois - 01</u>) - Ranking Member <u>Jerry McNerney (California - 09)</u> <u>Scott Peters (California - 52)</u> <u>Gene Green (Texas - 29)</u> <u>Michael Doyle (Pennsylvania - 14)</u> <u>Kathy Castor (Florida - 14)</u> <u>John Sarbanes (Maryland - 03)</u> <u>Peter Welch (Vermont - 00)</u> <u>Paul Tonko (New York - 20)</u> <u>David Loebsack (Iowa - 02)</u> <u>Kurt Schrader (Oregon - 05)</u> <u>Joseph P. Kennedy III (Massachusetts - 04)</u> <u>G.K. Butterfield (North Carolina - 01)</u> <u>Frank Pallone (New Jersey - 06) - Ex Officio</u>

Other Committees of Jurisdiction in the US HOUSE

- o House Appropriations: Subcommittee on Energy and Water Development
- o It is possible for HOUSE action to also happen in Natural Resources Committee

115th Congress—US HOUSE LEADERSHIP http://www.house.gov/leadership/

Speaker: Paul Ryan, WI-1-R (Trump, Pence, Ryan) Majority Leader: Kevin McCarthy (CA-23-R) Minority Leader: Nancy Pelosi (CA-12-D) Majority Whip: Steve Scalise (LA-1-R) Democratic Whip: Steny Hoyer (MD-5-D) Republican Conference Chairman: Kathy McMorris Rodgers (WA-5-R) Assistant Democratic Leader: James Clyburn (SC-6-D) Republican Policy Committee Chair: Luke Messer (IN-6-R) Democratic Caucus Chair: Joseph Crowley (NY-14-D)

Senate Leadership—115th

http://www.senate.gov/senators/leadership.htm (has hot links to each)

VP Mike Pence (IN-R) is president of SENATE Orin Hatch (UT-R) is the President Pro Tempore Senate Majority Leader: Mitch McConnell (KY-R) Assistant Republican Leader: John Cornyn (TX-R) Republican Conference Chair: John Thune (SD-R) Vice Chair of Republican Conf: Roy Blunt (MO-R) Republican Policy Comm: John Barrasso (WY-R) Senator Committee: Cory Gardner (CO-R) Democratic Leader: John Schumer (NY-D) Whip: Richard Durbin (IL-D) Assistant Democratic Whip: Patty Murray (WA-D) Chairwoman of Policy Comm: Debbie Stabenow (MI-D) Vice Chair of Conference: Elizabeth Warren (MA-D) Vice Chair of Conference: Mark Warner (VA-D)

Senate Committees of Jurisdiction

Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee https://www.energy.senate.gov/public/

Chair: Lisa Murkowski (AK-R) Ranking Minority: Maria Cantwell (WA-D)

Members: <u>https://www.energy.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/members</u> States: * means a member of Senate Leadership

Republican (order by rank)
WY *
ID
UT
AZ

Democrat OR VT Sanders MI Stabenow MN

WWW.NIRS.ORG

MT	WV			
CO	NM Heinrich			
TN (Alexander)	HI			
CO *	ME			
ND	IL			
LA	NV Cortez Masto			
ОН				
AL				
Green—No waste transport projected—all others YES				

Senate Environment and Public Works (sometimes—but at the moment a good thing since we have Markey, Sanders, Gillebrand) https://www.epw.senate.gov/public/

Chair: John Brarrosso (WY-R) Ranking Minority: Tom Carper (DE-D)

Members: <u>https://www.epw.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/members</u>

s://www.epw.senate.gov/public/index.cfm/members				
ocs/ICI 🔠 NuclearIsDirty Calend	👅 Progress Energy looki 🛛 🔎	A Ticking Atomic Cloc	The meanings and original	🔜 SE gen 📃 fnd cente
HEARINGS HEARINGS HILD ACT Enter Site Search SEARCH		A-22	H	ome Print Site Map
Related Links	Members		E C	
Majority Minority Members	Majority		Minority	
Subcommittees Legislative Calendar Committee Resources	▶ John Barrasso (Cha	airman)	Thomas R. Carper (Ran Member)	king
Contact Mominations Hearings Site Map	James M. Inhofe		Benjamin L. Cardin	
	Shelley Moore Capit	to	Bernard Sanders	
Search Privacy Policy	▶ John Boozman		Sheldon Whitehouse	
Contact Back to Home	Roger F. Wicker		▶ Jeff Merkley	
	Deb Fischer		Kirsten Gillibrand	
	▶ Jerry Moran		Cory A. Booker	
	Mike Rounds		Edward Markey	
	▶ Joni Ernst		Tammy Duckworth	
	Dan Sullivan		▶ Kamala Harris	
	Richard Shelby			

Senate APPROPRIATIONS:

Chair: Thad Cochran (MS-R) Ranking Minority: Patrick Leahy (VT-D)

Subcommittee on Energy Water and Development https://www.appropriations.senate.gov/subcommittees/energy-and-water-development

Chair: Alexander (TN-R)

Ranking Minority: Diane Feinstein (CA-D)

Above link has all the members of this Subcommittee who are basically a star-studded cast of Senate Leadership

WWW.NIRS.ORG

6930 Carroll Avenue, Suite 340, Takoma Park, MD 20912 | T. (301) 270- NIRS (6477) | F. (301)-270-4291