

NUCLEAR INFORMATION AND RESOURCE SERVICE

6930 Carroll Avenue, Suite 340, Takoma Park, MD 20912 301-270-NIRS (301-270-6477); Fax: 301-270-4291 nirsnet@nirs.org; www.nirs.org

On the Third Anniversary of the Beginning of the Fukushima Nuclear Disaster

Prime Minister Shinzō Abe Hand delivery to the Embassy of Japan 2520 Massachusetts Ave NW Washington, DC 20008

To Japanese Prime Minister, Mr. Shinzō Abe:

It has been three years since the start of the Fukushima nuclear power disaster, with no end in sight. The primary focus of your government must be on mitigating this catastrophe and preventing further disasters from the Fukushima site—and not on restarting nuclear reactors and exporting nuclear technology, which are a counterproductive diversion of financial, managerial, and regulatory resources.

- 1. We call on you to change Japan's nuclear policy and to keep all nuclear power reactors closed. We are also working for this in our own country.
- 2. Please expedite the stabilization of the Fukushima Daiichi nuclear reactors and the irradiated fuel pools.
- 3. Stop the flow of radioactive water into the Pacific Ocean. The ocean extends far beyond Japan. It is owned by the entire planet and is essential to life on Earth.
- 4. Please do not export nuclear reactors to other countries.
- 5. Please fully compensate all victims of Fukushima and provide medical treatment and relocation assistance for people living in contaminated areas.
- 6. Stop the incineration of radioactive rubble and waste throughout Japan, which does not destroy radioactivity but simply disperses it into the air, incinerator ash, and other solid waste.

People have been forced to abandon their homes and hometowns; farmers lost their farmlands and their animals. Many people will never be able to go back to their homes and businesses because of radiation contamination, for which TEPCO and government regulators are responsible.

Radiation knows no national or prefectural borders. We must not allow another nuclear disaster. We urge you to exercise your leadership to achieve the goals of these six recommendations.

With sincere regards,

Michael Mariotte President Nuclear Information and Resource Service Takoma Park, Maryland

Peer de Rijk Executive Drector World Information Service On Energy Amsterdam, Netherlands

Kevin Kamps Beyond Nuclear Radioactive Waste Watchdog Takoma Park, Maryland

Ken Bossong Executive Director SUN DAY Campaign Takoma Park, Maryland

Barbara Warren Executive Director Citizens' Environmental Coalition Albany, New York

Alfred L. Marder Honorary President International Association of Peace Messenger Cities New Haven, Connecticut

Guillermo Sanchez San Pablo Bay Ecological Preservation Association Vallejo, California

Alice Slater Abolition 2000 New York Metro New York, New York

Max Obuszewski Baltimore Nonviolence Center Baltimore, Maryland Janet Tauro Board Chair Clean Water Action Long Branch, New Jersey

Hope C. Taylor, MSPH Executive Director Clean Water for North Carolina Asheville, North Carolina

Priscilla Star Director Coalition Against Nukes Montauk, New York

Michael J. Keegan Coalition for a Nuclear Free Great Lakes Monroe, Michigan

Holly Harwood CODEPINK Golden Gate Chapter Berkeley, California

Anne Rabe Chairperson Community Concerned About NL Industries Albany, New York

Ernest Fuller Vice-Chairman Concerned Citizens for SNEC Safety Six Mile Run, Pennsylvania

Nancy Burton Director Connecticut Coalition Against Millstone Redding, CT

Valerie Heinonen Director, Shareholder Advocacy Dominican Sisters of Hope New York, New York Alice Hirt Don't Waste Michigan Holland, Michigan

Betty Case Dorchester People for Peace Dorchester, Massachusetts

Janet McNeill Durham Nuclear Awareness Whitby, Ontario, Canada

Mary Beth Brangan and James Heddle Co-Directors Ecological Options Network Bolinas, California

Carolyn S. Scarr Program Coordinator Ecumenical Peace Institute Berkeley, California

Patricia T. Birnie Chair GE Stockholders' Alliance Sandy Spring, Maryland

Jackie Cabasso Green Energy Nuclear Free Great Lakes Group Oakland, California

Nydia Leaf Granny Peace Brigade New York, New York

Janet Tauro Grandmothers, Mothers, and More for Energy Safety Brick, New Jersey

Manna Jo Greene Environmental Director Hudson River Sloop Clearwater, Inc. Beacon, New York Michel Lee Leadership Council Indian Point Safe Energy Coalition Ossining, New York

Margli Auclair Executive Director Mt. Diablo Peace and Justice Center Walnut Creek, California

Carolyn Treadway Coordinator No New Nukes Normal, Illinois, USA

Judy Treichel Executive Director Nevada Nuclear Waste Task Force Las Vegas, Nevada

Chizu Hamada No Nukes Action San Francisco, California.

Lewis Lubka North Dakota Peace Coalition Bismark, North Dakota

Nina Bell, J.D. Executive Director Northwest Environmental Advocates Portland, Oregon

Libbe HaLevy, M.A., CAC Producer Nuclear Hotseat Pittsburg, Pennsylvania

David A. Kraft, Director Nuclear Energy Information Service Chicago, Illinois

Glenn Carroll Coordinator, Nuclear Watch South Atlanta, Georgia John LaForge Co-Director Nukewatch Luck, Wisconsin

Jay Coghlan Executive Director Nuclear Watch New Mexico Santa Fe, New Mexico

Rose Marie Cecchini, MM Director, Office of Life, Peace, Justice & Creation Stewardship Catholic Charities of Gallup Gallup, New Mexico

Lloyd K. Marbet Executive Director Oregon Conservancy Foundation Boring, Oregon

Sheila Croke Administrator Pax Christi Long Island North Hempstead, New York

Nancy O'Byrne Coordinator Pax Christi Florida St. Augustine, Florida

Kevin Martin Executive Director Peace Action Silver Spring, Maryland

David Hartsough Executive Director Peaceworkers San Francisco, California

Judi Friedman Chair People's Action for Clean Energy Canton, Connecticut Conrad Miller, MD Physicians for Life Watermill New York

Terry Clark, M.D. Chairperson Physicians for Social Responsibility, Western North Carolina Chapter Candler, North Carolina

Leslie Sullivan Sachs Safe and Green Campaign Brattleboro, Vermont

Anne Craig SAFE Carolinas Asheville, North Carolina

Mary Ratcliff San Francisco Bay View National Black Newspaper San Francisco, California

Linda Seeley and Jane Swanson San Luis Obispo Mothers for Peace San Luis Obispo, California

Tom Siracuse Chair Shut Down Indian Point Now! New York City, New York

Liz Woodruff Executive Director Snake River Alliance Boise, Idaho

Avram Friedman Executive Director The Canary Coalition Sylva, North Carolina

Marilyn McCulloch Secretary, Board of Directors The Carrie Dickerson Foundation Tulsa, Oklahoma Jacqueline Cabasso and Terry Rockefeller National Co-Coordinators United for Peace and Justice Oakland, California

Marylia Kelley Executive Director Tri-Valley CAREs

Valerie Heinonen Director, Shareholder Advocacy Ursuline Sisters of Tildonk New York, New York

Chris Williams President Vermont Citizens Action Network Hancock, Vermont

Greg Wingard, Executive Director Waste Action Project Seattle, Washington

Jacqueline Cabasso Executive Director Western States Legal Foundation Oakland, California

Women's International League for Peace and Freedom Peninsula Branch Lois Salo and Mary Ayers Palo Alto, California

Laurie Litman Chair 350 Sacramento Sacramento, California

Cecile Pineda Fukushima Response, NoCal Berkeley, CA

Kay Cumbow Citizens for Alternatives to Chemical Contamination Michigan